The Stash

5 Sep

My mother, an addictions counselor, once told me, “you know there is a reason that knitters and heroin addicts both have stashes. It’s pretty clear you have a yarn addiction.” Oof. She was right. For the last eight years or so, I have been buying, but not always – ok – rarely – using all sorts of yarn.

Most of my purchases are made with projects in mind and patterns even pulled. I’ll find the pattern, buy all of the supplies (one can never have enough stitch markers either), and then file it in my knitting room. Again and again. Do this for  a few years, and the extra bedroom looks like this:

The Crafting Cave, September 2012

I’ve been “knitting from my stash” for the last few years, and though it’s hard to believe, this is organized AND less yarn. Kinda. The rules for stash knitting include the caveat that if you are making a gift, it doesn’t need to be knit from stash yarn. Perhaps I included gifts to myself in that rule. And then there’s clearance yarn – it’s just not right to pass up a good deal. And sock yarn. You can never have enough sock yarn. Ever.

That’s how you never make progress on a stash. And that’s OK. Except I do want to clean up this room. So I’m going to work on some projects for Project Linus, make some hats for shelters, and snuggles for pet shelters. That will take care of some of this yarn.

If you find yourself with a stash, here are some of my favorite patterns for busting it – really!

How do you work? Are you a project knitter? Are you disciplined to only buy the yarn you need for a specific project? Are you drawn into the textures and colors when you see a wall of yarn? Share your thoughts!

3 Responses to “The Stash”

  1. agujasblog September 6, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    um, somehow i don’t feel quite so bad about my yarn stash. : )

    • cpackard September 6, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      Yeah – and that’s a really, really bad photo. You can’t see the large shopping bags full of cone yarn, nor how many skeins of sock yarn I may actually own. Oy. Yes, the first step is admitting you have a problem. AND the Colorado Yarn Crawl starts this week. Uh oh. Thanks for reading! Hoping I’ll stay on top of blogging, this time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bread Crumb Trail « Floridian Fibers - October 6, 2012

    […] The Stash (stitchingsquirrel.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Rebuilding Together Metro Denver

Everyone Deserves a Safe and Healthy Home

Charity Confidential

Because Bluehost Deleted my ENTIRE SITE WITHOUT TELLING ME

Crochet with Raymond

The mad adventures of a lesbi@n hooker and her siamese cat!

Daily Craft Project

a daily crafting journey

Run Clyde Run!

A big guy running for fitness and fun

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

